When a user leaves your organization, you can delete their account. As a G Suite administrator, you can review and transfer ownership of their data to another user, for example, a manager, before deleting the account.


Before you delete a user's account

Transfer or export files or important data


To delete a user

  1. In your Google Admin console (at admin.google.com)...

  2. Go to Users.
  3. (Optional) To delete a single user, do the following:
    • In the Users list, find the user.
    • Hover over the user you want to delete and click More More and then Delete. (You can also find this option at the top-left of the user's account page, under More More.) 
  4. (Optional) To delete multiple users, do the following:
    • Check the box for each user you want to delete in the Users list.
    • At the top of the page, click Delete selected users Delete selected users.
      Tip: If all users belong to the same organizational unit, select it on the right to find the users more easily. (You can click  at the upper left to see the organizational tree.) Or, if the users are in different organizations, on the left, select Users from all organization units.
  5. If you're a delegated admin (not a super admin), check the boxes to confirm you understand the impact of deleting the account.
  6. (Optional, for super admins only) To transfer ownership of user content:
    • Check the boxes you want.

      Important

      • Only Drive content owned by a user can be transferred to another user, who becomes the new owner. 
      • Content that's not transferred to another user is deleted by Google. Google Drive files are deleted after 20 days. Brand Account assets (such as Google+ pages) are deleted immediately if the user is the sole owner.
      • Transferred content includes files of all types, not just Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and so on
    • In the Transfer to box, search for a user account by entering the first few characters of the user's name or email address. When you see the account you want, select it.
  7. Click Delete User or Delete Users.
  8. If necessary, delete the user from your Gmail contacts list.


When the data is transferred and the account deleted, we email the contacts you set up in Company Profile and thenProfile and then Contact information.